The newly-formed managing committee of the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) has appointed a star-studded Cricket Improvement Committee (CIC) for the 2015-2017 seasons.
MCA vice-president and former India captain Dilip Vengsarkar will chair the panel. He will be joined by another former India skipper, Ajit Wadekar, former India players Pravin Amre, Sanjay Manjrekar and Ajit Agarkar, former India women’s captain Diana Edulji, former Mumbai captain Amol Muzumdar and managing committee member Deepak Patil. According to Vengsarkar, Sachin Tendulkar will be a special invitee to the CIC’s meetings. The batting great has agreed to share his views with the committee and will attend its meetings as and when required.
The CIC, which has been formed and disbanded on many occasions, will take up the job of appointing the selectors, coaches and support staff for every age group, including the first-class unit. It will also appoint a director for the Sharad Pawar Indoor Cricket Academy in Bandra-Kurla Complex. As promised by Sharad Pawar before the elections, the MCA has decided to give each of its member clubs an additional membership of the world-class facility in BKC.
“The next three months are crucial for us. We have to get things in order before the cricket season starts in (September-October). The CIC comprises some great players who have served Mumbai and Indian cricket,” Vengsarkar said.
The managing committee has announced the formation of 24 committees, including one for registration of players, but there is no mention of a disciplinary committee. Over the past few years, players belonging to different age-group teams have been involved in several cases of indiscipline. Vengsarkar said that the MCA “will not tolerate any act of indiscipline” from any player, be it “a superstar or an Under-14 player”.
Vengsarkar also informed that the MCA will do everything possible to launch the long overdue Mumbai Premier League. He also said that the Dr HD Kanga League, the association’s pet monsoon event, will be held from August 2 to October 25. The other tournaments — Police Shield, Times Shield, Purshottam Shield, Talim Shield and Comrade Shield — will be scheduled after the Kanga League.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s